18 Characteristics of the Doctoral Programs

The Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board requires each doctoral program at a public university to provide data on 18 prescribed characteristics.  Though of basic informational use, the eighteen characteristics fall markedly short of portraying the complete nature of a doctoral program. Each doctoral program at Texas A&M University is unique. To find complete information, you should consult the program’s web site and contact the graduate adviser or graduate coordinator for your chosen program of interest. Reports are updated annually.  The links below will take you to individual departments and colleges, as well as allow you to view a PDF of the report for that department.

Interdisciplinary Degree Programs

College of Agriculture and Life Sciences

Department of Agricultural Economics

  • Agricultural Economics (2014)
  • Agribusiness and Managerial Economics (2014)

Department of Agricultural Leadership Education & Communications

  • Agricultural Leadership Education & Communications (2014)

Department of Animal Science

  • Animal Breeding (2014)
  • Animal Science (2014)
  • Physiology of Reproduction (2014)

Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics

  • Biochemistry (2014)

Department of Biological and Agricultural Engineering

  • Biological and Agricultural Engineering (2014)

Department of Ecosystem Science and Management

  • Ecosystem Science and Management (2014)

Department of Entomology

Department of Horticultural Sciences

  • Horticulture (2014)

Department of Nutrition & Food Science

Department of Plant Pathology and Microbiology

  • Plant Pathology (2014)

Department of Poultry Science

  • Poultry Science (2014)

Department of Recreation, Park and Tourism Sciences

  • Recreation, Park and Tourism Sciences (2014)

Department of Soil and Crop Sciences

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries Sciences

  • Wildlife and Fisheries Sciences (2014)

College of Architecture

Department of Architecture

  • Architecture (2014)

Department of Landscape Architecture and Urban Planning

  • Urban and Regional Sciences (2014)

Mays Business School

  • Business Administration (2014)

College of Education and Human Development

Department of Educational Administration and Human Resource Development

  • Educational Administration (2014)
  • Educational Human Resource Development (2014)

Department of Educational Psychology

  • Counseling Psychology (2014)
  • Educational Psychology (2014)
  • School Psychology (2014)

Department of Health and Kinesiology

  • Health Education (2014)
  • Kinesiology (2014)

Department of Teaching, Learning and Culture

  • Curriculum and Instruction (2014)

College of Engineering

Interdepartmental Degree Programs

  • Engineering (2014)
  • Interdisciplinary Engineering (2014)

Department of Aerospace Engineering

  • Aerospace Engineering (2014)

Department of Biomedical Engineering

  • Biomedical Engineering (2014)

Artie McFerrin Department of Chemical Engineering

  • Chemical Engineering (2014)

Zachry Department of Civil Engineering

  • Civil Engineering (2014)
  • Ocean Engineering (2014)

Department of Computer Science and Engineering

  • Computer Engineering (2014) (Joint program offered in the departments of Computer Science & Engineering and Electrical & Computer Engineering)
  • Computer Science (2014)

Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

  • Computer Engineering (2014) (Joint program offered in the departments of Computer Science & Engineering and Electrical & Computer Engineering)
  • Electrical Engineering (2014)

Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering

  • Industrial Engineering (2014)

Department of Materials Science and Engineering

  • Materials Science and Engineering (2014)

Department of Mechanical Engineering

  • Mechanical Engineering (2013)

Department of Nuclear Engineering

  • Nuclear Engineering (2014)

Harold Vance Department of Petroleum Engineering

  • Petroleum Engineering (2014)

College of Geosciences

Department of Atmospheric Sciences

  • Atmospheric Sciences (2014)

Department of Geography

Department of Geology and Geophysics

Department of Oceanography

  • Oceanography (2014)

College of Liberal Arts

Department of Anthropology

  • Anthropology (2014)

Department of Communication

  • Communication (2014)

Department of Economics

Department of English

Department of Hispanic Studies

  • Hispanic Studies (2014)

Department of History

Department of Philosophy and Humanities

Department of Political Science

  • Political Science (2014)

Department of Psychology

Department of Sociology

College of Science

Department of Biology

Department of Chemistry

Department of Mathematics

  • Mathematics (2014)

Department of Physics

  • Applied Physics (2014)
  • Physics  (2014)

Department of Statistics

College of Veterinary Medicine

Interdepartmental Degree Program

  • Biomedical Sciences (2014)

Department of Veterinary Pathobiology

  • Veterinary Pathobiology (new program structure, less than 3 years old)

Health Science Center

College of Medicine

School of Rural Public Health

  • Public Health (2013)
  • Health Services Research (2013)