Winners and People’s Choice Awarded for 2nd Annual 3 Minute Thesis Competition!

3MT 2014 Winners

Pictured left to right: Brittany Bounds, Ashley Mattison, Akshata Kulkarni, Muwei Zhang, and Alexandria Igwe

Congratulations to the Masters and Doctoral winners of this year’s 3 Minute Thesis Competition! Eight graduate students competed last week and for prizes in the Master’s and Doctoral divisions. A panel of five judges included a lineup of prestigious faculty members and the president of the Graduate and Professional Student Council. All participants were judged on their ability to communicate their research in an engaging and comprehendible manner to a lay audience. People’s Choice winners were selected by the audience.

Doctoral division winner, Brittany Bounds, will represent Texas A&M University in the 3MT regional competition at the Conference of Southern Graduate Schools in New Orleans, Louisiana, in March 2015. Ms. Bounds is from the Department of History and presented her study of written responses to The White House during the liberation movements of the 1960s titled “The Write Response”.

Doctoral Division Winners


3MT - Brittany Bounds

Brittany Bounds    
Department: History
Advisor: Dr. Terry Anderson
3MT Title: The Write Response



3MT - Ashley Mattison

Ashley Mattison
Department: Biochemistry and Biophysics
Advisor: Dr. John Mullet
3MT Title: Increasing Grain Yield of Sorghum Bicolor



3MT - Muwei ZhangPeople’s Choice
Muwei Zhang
Department: Chemistry
Advisor: Dr. Hong-Cai Zhou
3MT Title: Rational Design of Porous Materials for Clean-Energy Applications



Masters Division Winners

3MT - Alexandria IgweWinner
Alexandria Igwe
Department: Soil and Crop Sciences
Advisor: Dr. Paul Schwab
3MT Title: Who Does it Better?




3MT - Akshata KulkarniRunner-up & People’s Choice
Akshata Kulkarni
Department: Horticultural Sciences
Advisor: Dr. Charlie Hall
3MT Title: Green Industry: A necessity in life and not a luxury

Finalists Announced for 2014 TAMU 3 Minute Thesis Competition

October is Professional Development Month

Congratulations to Dr. Heinz on Receiving Kunze Award

Dr. Heinz accepting a plaque for the Kunze Award.

Pictured above are GSC Executive Vice President Amanda Rutherford (left), Dr. Kevin Heinz (center) and GSC President Brittany Bounds (right).
Photo by Charlotte Garroway.

The Office of Graduate and Professional Studies would like to congratulate our own Assistant Provost, Dr. Kevin Heinz, on receiving the Kunze Award from the TAMU Graduate Student Council.

Dr. Heinz received the award during a special ceremony on Monday, April 28, 2014 for his work and dedication with the Office of Graduate and Professional Studies and the Department of Entomology.

For more information about his work and accomplishments, view the full article provided by the Entomology Department.

2014 Phil Gramm Fellowship Awards Ceremony Photos

2014 Community of Scholars Photos

2014 Phil Gramm Fellowship Awards Ceremony Photos

2014 Community of Scholars Photos

Dr. Roger E. Howe Biography

Dr. Roger Howe

Dr. Roger Howe, TIAS Fellow
William Kenan, Jr. Professor of Mathematics
Yale University

Dr. Roger E. Howe is the William R. Kenan, Jr. Professor of Mathematics at Yale University, where his work focuses on representation theory and other applications of symmetry, including harmonic analysis, automorphic forms, and invariant theory. He first introduced the concept of the reductive dual pair—often referred to as a “Howe pair”—in a preprint during the 1970s and a formal paper in 1989. This and other significant contributions to mathematics earned him a membership in the National Academy of Sciences in 1994. He is also a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

As a teacher, Howe has championed national initiatives to advance math education, serving on several prominent national panels and committees. In 1997, Yale presented him with the Yale College/Dylan Hixon ’88 Prize for Teaching Excellence in the National Sciences. In 2006, he received the American Mathematical Society Award for Distinguished Public Service for his ‘multifaceted contributions to mathematics education.” He became a fellow of the American Mathematical Society in 2012.

Dr. Howe did his undergraduate work at Harvard University, winning the William Lowell Putnam Mathematical Competition in 1964. He was awarded the Ph.D. from University of California, Berkeley in 1969. He joined the Yale faculty in 1974, serving as the mathematics department’s director of graduate studies in 1982-83 and 1986-87, and as department chair from 1992-95. As a TIAS Fellow, he will collaborate with faculty and students in the College of Education & Human Development’s Department of Teaching, Learning & Culture.

Dr. Katepalli R. Sreenivasan Biography

dr. katepalli sreenivasan

Dr. Katepalli Sreenivasan, TIAS Fellow
President, Polytechnic School of Engineering
New York University


Dr. Katepalli R. Sreenivasan is President of the Polytechnic School of Engineering of New York University, and university professor in the Departments of Physics and Mechanical Engineering, and at the Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences.  He is also executive vice provost for science and technology for the Global Network University.

Dr. Sreenivasan is a member of the National Academic of Sciences and the National Academy of Engineering, and is a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.  His honors include the Guggenheim Fellowship, the Otto Laporte Memorial Award of the American Physical Society, the TWAS medal Lecture in Engineering Science, and many others.

A recipient of three honorary doctorates, he has authored more than 240 research papers. Dr. Sreenivasan earned his bachelor’s in mechanical engineering from Bangalore University, India in 1968, and his master’s and doctorate in aeronautical engineering from the Indian Institute of Science in 1970 and 1975, respectively.

He is an international leader on the nature of turbulent flows, including experiment, theory, and simulations, and his expertise crosses the boundaries of physics, engineering, and mathematics. Elected as a 2012-2013 TIAS Faculty Fellow, Dr. Sreenivasan is collaborating on projects with Texas A&M faculty in the Dwight Look College of Engineering’s aerospace and mechanical engineering departments, and with several faculty in the College of Science.