Winners and People’s Choice Awarded for 2nd Annual 3 Minute Thesis Competition!

3MT 2014 Winners

Pictured left to right: Brittany Bounds, Ashley Mattison, Akshata Kulkarni, Muwei Zhang, and Alexandria Igwe

Congratulations to the Masters and Doctoral winners of this year’s 3 Minute Thesis Competition! Eight graduate students competed last week and for prizes in the Master’s and Doctoral divisions. A panel of five judges included a lineup of prestigious faculty members and the president of the Graduate and Professional Student Council. All participants were judged on their ability to communicate their research in an engaging and comprehendible manner to a lay audience. People’s Choice winners were selected by the audience.

Doctoral division winner, Brittany Bounds, will represent Texas A&M University in the 3MT regional competition at the Conference of Southern Graduate Schools in New Orleans, Louisiana, in March 2015. Ms. Bounds is from the Department of History and presented her study of written responses to The White House during the liberation movements of the 1960s titled “The Write Response”.

Doctoral Division Winners


3MT - Brittany Bounds

Brittany Bounds    
Department: History
Advisor: Dr. Terry Anderson
3MT Title: The Write Response



3MT - Ashley Mattison

Ashley Mattison
Department: Biochemistry and Biophysics
Advisor: Dr. John Mullet
3MT Title: Increasing Grain Yield of Sorghum Bicolor



3MT - Muwei ZhangPeople’s Choice
Muwei Zhang
Department: Chemistry
Advisor: Dr. Hong-Cai Zhou
3MT Title: Rational Design of Porous Materials for Clean-Energy Applications



Masters Division Winners

3MT - Alexandria IgweWinner
Alexandria Igwe
Department: Soil and Crop Sciences
Advisor: Dr. Paul Schwab
3MT Title: Who Does it Better?




3MT - Akshata KulkarniRunner-up & People’s Choice
Akshata Kulkarni
Department: Horticultural Sciences
Advisor: Dr. Charlie Hall
3MT Title: Green Industry: A necessity in life and not a luxury

Graduate Student Campus Climate Survey